4 Underrated Trends I Want To Become Huge

I enjoy fashion as much as the next girl, but don’t always have the energy to take giant risks ala Carrie Bradshaw or Bjork.   It’s more comfortable for me to fully embrace them once they’ve crept towards their Tipping Point (or have been reinterpreted by J. Crew).  That doesn’t mean I don’t have fashion fantasies, so behold my wish list of trends I want to have a Big Moment, although not all at the same time.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s begins with a tiara

Tiaras.  If there is one plea I have to the universe, it’s for these to make a comeback during my life time.  I’m not talking about the super high beauty queen crowns of “Toddlers & Tiaras” (ick), but rather the subtle top off like the one Audrey wears above.  They instantly make you look regal, add height (classier than Snookie’s Bump-It) and light your face in a luminous glow.  There were glimpses of them at 2012 Fashion Week in the form of embellished headbands (a good first step) and Louis Vuitton did kinda of a “meh” version for Spring, but the price point kept it out of reach for most.

2. Saris.  Lets get this out of the way first– I am fully aware that this picture is of Disney’s defunct Cheetah Girls and do not represent the typical Indian woman or their saris.  But, it was the best picture I could find to make my point about how fabulous saris can be.  Their floaty, colorful, dreaminess embodies happiness.  Indian women of all ages, shapes and sizes wear them equally well and I love how it’s totally ok to have that little bit of belly fat hanging over the waistband.  In general, Bollywood seems to be having a lot more fun.  I would kill to wear this to a meeting and have it not be totally weird.

3. Ladylike mod dresses from the 1960’s.  These dresses are seriously sexy and forgiving at the same time.  I would own one in every color if someone would just make them!  The magic of a good mod dress lies in subtle, structured tailoring, a slight A-line, being a little about the knee and sleeves.  Lisa Perry has some nice interpretations, but they don’t have sleeves and the A-line can look a little maternity if you’re not willowy (at least on me).

Kate Winslet channels Liz Taylor thanks to Mario Testoni

4. Head scarves worn this way and that.  They’re like sunglasses for your hair.  It’s the perfect bad hair day accessory that makes you look ridiculously glam.  Plus, they’re great pool side,  provide some SPF protection and can be your best friend in windy weather.  Think Grace Kelley, Elizabeth Taylor, Sophia Loren and J. Lo.  Right now they have a bit of a grassroots, cult following but too often are associated with Little Red Riding Hood, or the elderly (meaning we need Kate Middleton to wear along with Queen Elizabeth).  I know we can bring the sexy back to head scarves!

Well, that’s my fashion fantasy list.  What do you secretly fantasize about being back in style?