Friday Field Notes: Dictators, Supermodels, Feminists and a Sky Diving Queen

Happy Friday!  Here’s how I’m filling the dead air at dinner parties this weekend:

1) I can’t wait for the new documentary “About Face: Super Models Then and Now” that airs this Monday on HBO.

Photo credit: copyright (c)Timothy Greenfield-Sanders.

Being a child of the ’80s, I was fed a steady diet of Kim Alexis, Christy Brinkley, and Paulina Porizkova so I was curious.  I have to admit, I clicked the link with reservation, expecting a shallow send up of glamour days gone by and a bunch of women with uptown problems.

I was pleasantly surprised to hear  Jerry Hall (with a supermodel equivalent of a meno-pot), Paulina, Carmen Dell’Orefice and Isabella Rossellini downright bitching about getting old — and I loved every minute of it.  It seems director Timothy Greenfield-Sanders is shining the spotlight on aging and the cultural rise and fall of modeling starting from its unglamorous start in the 1940s to its hey day in the 80s and beyond.  It may be Monday, but I’m opening up a bottle of pinot and checking this out.

2) To all the Single Ladies, I’m sorry to say that North Korean Dictator Kim Jong Ill has put a ring on it.  Specifically, the finger of “comrade Ri Sol Ju.  He apparently wants to be a more transparent leader than his father, and I guess having a show stopping first lady is a good step.  Curious to see how communist North Korea serves up its début first lady in a world of Kate Middletons, Michelle Obamas and Carla Bruni-Sarkozis (Politico)

Do you think her Facebook status is “married” or “it’s complicated”?

“Kim-Ri” enjoying a stolen romantic moment

3) Speaking of Washington DC has finally…FINALLY released its The Hill’s Most Beautiful 50.  The list itself is pretty “meh”, but what I like is that Michelle Bachman comes in at a respectable #10.  I may not agree with her politics, but red or blue, we’re all just girls.  I think she looks great for someone who is 56, has a ton of foster kids and just made a run for the Oval Office.  She must be exhausted, but doesn’t look it.  (Huffington Post)

Yessss! I’ve still got it.

4) Speaking of beauty, here’s a great piece on “Confessions of a Real Life Photo Retoucher” (Buzzfeed).  There’s nothing in here that’s surprising, but it’s comforting to know the degree to which perfection is achieved.  Mascara ads are apparently the worst fakers, but I think we all kinda knew that.

5) Wait…Marylin Monroe was a feminist lesbian?  A new book, “Marylin: The Passion and the Paradox”by Lois Banner suggests this might have been the case.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that (Guardian UK).

6) And lastly, the Olympics officially kicked off tonight with a Danny Meyer (Slumdog Millionaire, Trainspotting) mash-up of just about everything that ever happened in the UK.  I have to say, the choice to emphasize the UK’s awesome national healthcare system and contribution to great works of children’s literature stood out in stark contrast to what we value in the in the US, especially after Mitt’s socially awkward moment earlier in the week.  Oy vey, at least we had our chic Ralph Lauren outfits and  Made In China Berets. (DailyMail)

London, all I can say is you had me at sky diving Queen Elizabeth.